Richie Narvaez

HOLLY Wins Agatha Award!

HOLLY HERNANDEZ AND THE DEATH OF DISCO, by Richie Narvaez, won the Agatha Award for Best Children’s/Young Adult Book at last night’s Malice Domestic crime fiction conference. “I am beyond overwhelmed,” says Narvaez. “This book is dedicated to my teachers. A substitute teacher in junior high school lent me a copy of Murder on the Orient Express, which changed my life, and so this is like coming full circle.” Other

LeVar Burton Reads My Story!

LeVar Burton reads my speculative fiction short story “Room for Rent,” from the anthology Latinx Rising, on his wonderful podcast. I am beyond thrilled by this and his reading is amazing. And the way he pronounces my name! Thank you, Geordi! Listen to him here: https://omny.fm/shows/levar-burton-reads/room-for-rent-by-richie-narvaez

Narvaez Receives 2021 BRIO Award

Bronx, NY (July 2021) — Pelham Bay resident and author Richie Narvaez received a Bronx Recognizes Its Own (BRIO) grant of $5,000, awarded by the Bronx Council on the Arts (BCA) to honor artistic excellence in the literary, media, visual, and performing arts. “I’m quite humbled to receive this award,” says Narvaez, an educator and a writer of literary fiction, mystery, speculative fiction, and horror. “I was born and raised

Upcoming Appearances in July

A busy week coming up! On Facebook Live this week, Wednesday, July 21 (7 p.m. PST; 10 p.m. EST), I’ll be guesting on STORY HOUR, reading my short story “Galán,” from the anthology Latinx Screams. For more information, go here: https://www.storyhour2020.com/ On Friday, July 23, 5–6 p.m. PST, 8–9 p.m. EST, I’ll be guesting on the IE Latinx Book y Chisme Club, talking about Holly Hernandez and the Death of